Channel: Paper RSS Feed
Mark channel Not-Safe-For-Work? cancel confirm NSFW Votes: (0 votes)
Are you the publisher? Claim or contact us about this channel.

2012 CFDA Nominees Include Rei Kawakubo, Creatures of the Wind, the Sartorialist and Johnny Depp


The 2012 CFDA Fashion Award nominees were just announced, and we're pretty excited about who got nods this year. Though there were some deserved repeat nominees from last year, including Pamela Love for the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design, as well as Patrik Ervell for Menswear Designer of the Year and Proenza Schouler for Womenswear Designer of the Year, there were some nice newcomer nominees as well. We were particularly pleased to see young design duo and Fashion Fund runners-up Creatures of the Wind, whose giggly Fashion Week interview with Mr. Mickey is a must-see, nominated for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear. The genius Rei Kawakubo of Comme des Garçons is receiving the International Award for "outstanding creative contribution to the world of fashion," and street-style blogger Scott Schumann (aka the Sartorialist) is receiving the Eugenia Sheppard Media Award with photographer and illustrator Garance Dore. (Remember when our Kim Hasteiter won the Media Award in 2010? That was awesome.) Also, Johnny Depp is getting the Style Icon Award (the CFDA likely read our Dogs in Turtlenecks post) and Seth Meyers is hosting the ceremony June 4th, so you know it's going to be a real fun night. See all the nominees below:

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Irene Neuwirth, Tabitha Simmons and Pamela Love

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Antonio Azzuolo, Todd Snyder and Phillip Lim

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Joseph Altuzarra, Creatures of the Wind and Suno

Accessory Designer of the Year: Reed Krakoff, Proenza Schouler and Alexander Wang

Menswear Designer of the Year: Simon Spurr, Patrik Ervell and Billy Reid

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Marc Jacobs, The Row, and Proenza Schouler

The Fashion Icon Award Nominee: Johnny Depp

The International Award: Rei Kawakubo

The Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard
: Garance Dore and the Sartorialist

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement award: Tommy Hilfiger

Latest Images

Trending Articles